Local Students Win Foundation Art Scholarships

Twenty-one local student artists have been crowned winners of the 2022 Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara Art Scholarship Competition. Each will receive a college scholarship for the 2022-23 academic year, and the Santa Barbara Museum of Art is exhibiting their painting, photography, and woodwork through February 6.

“We are very happy to renew our partnership with the Santa Barbara Museum of Art. The work submitted by these talented young artists was consistently strong this year, and we are pleased it will receive a wider audience through this fine exhibit in the SBMA Family Resource Center,” said Scholarship Foundation President and CEO Barbara Robertson.

Each year the Scholarship Foundation invites high school seniors in southern Santa Barbara County to submit a portfolio of original work for its art scholarship competition. Forty-eight student artists competed this year. Each winner receives a $2,500 scholarship; the best of show winner receives an additional $1,000 scholarship. Serving as judges this year were Anthony Askew and Patti Jacquemain. Judging took place January 20 at the Scholarship Foundation. The Santa Barbara Museum of Art exhibit includes one representative work from each winning portfolio.

Katherine Hedrick (pictured), a senior at Santa Barbara High School, was awarded the Schall Family Best of Show Prize. The other art scholarship winners this year are: Eden Andrulaitis (Santa Barbara High School), Josh Brennan (Dos Pueblos High School), Liza Coffin (Providence School), Sarah Collier (Providence School), Gabriella Crisa (San Marcos High School), Jackson Ebbin (Santa Barbara High School), Bella Figueroa (Dos Pueblos High School), Abigail Garcia (Dos Pueblos High School), Ailee Gessert-Ma (Dos Pueblos High School), Evan Grant (Dos Pueblos High School), Emma Holmstrom (Carpinteria High School), Preston Mathis (Dos Pueblos High School), Kailani Neyra Wahlberg (Dos Pueblos High School), Ella Noyes (Providence School), Melina Ochoa (Dos Pueblos High School), Diesel Pirman (Dos Pueblos High School), Katelyn Symons (Dos Pueblos High School), Vicky Tang (Dos Pueblos High School), Jennifer Vazquez Gonzalez (Dos Pueblos High School), and Nansy Velasquez (Carpinteria High School).