Scholarship Foundation Honors Student Artists

The Scholarship Foundation honored 20 student artists during a presentation and reception at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on January 25. Chosen as winners of the Foundation’s 2024 Art Scholarship Competition, the students addressed family members and supporters in the museum’s Mary Craig Auditorium. Each will receive a scholarship, and their selected art submissions will be exhibited in the museum’s Family Resource Center through February 12.

“We are very pleased to recognize these talented young artists and provide them with opportunities to continue their studies,” said Melinda Cabrera, president and CEO of the Scholarship Foundation. “I continue to marvel at the extent of their skill and dedication, which is quite evident in the submissions on exhibit. I encourage community members to view these remarkable student works at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art.”

Each year the Scholarship Foundation invites high school seniors in Southern Santa Barbara County to submit a portfolio of original work for its art scholarship competition. A panel of prominent local artists judge the submissions. Judging for the 2024 competition took place January 18 at the Assistance League of Santa Barbara. Seventy-one student artists competed this year. Each winner will receive a $3,000 scholarship; the best of show winner will receive an additional $1,000 scholarship. Serving as judges this year were Scott Anderson, Baret Boisson, and Isaac Hernandez.

Elly Cuevas, who attends Santa Barbara High School, was awarded the Schall Family Best of Show Prize. The other 2024 art scholarship winners are Sara Bonometti (Santa Barbara High School), Karyme Dorado Jimenez (Santa Barbara High School), Afia Ehrman (Dos Pueblos High School), Tom Foreman (Santa Barbara High School), Linda Galindo (Carpinteria High School), Destiny Guron (Dos Pueblos High School), Didin Heikman (Dos Pueblos High School), Emely Illescas Carrillo (Dos Pueblos High School), Alexander Murren Doherty (Dos Pueblos High School), Laila Ordonez (San Marcos High School), Andrew Perez (Santa Barbara High School), Donovan Quirk (Dos Pueblos High School), Betsaida Rodriguez (Santa Barbara High School), Dazli Rosario (San Marcos High School), Lola Sage (Bishop Garcia Diego High School), Alice Sperling (Dos Pueblos High School), Boston Thomas (Alta Vista Alternative High School), Olivia Van Gool (Dos Pueblos High School), and Lucia Wolf (San Marcos High School).